澳大逆轉肝素及新型抗癌藥物研究獲獎

澳門大學中華醫藥研究院兩項最新研究成果“創新肝素逆轉劑"及“創新型抗菌抗癌藥物"在第18屆亞洲化學大會暨第20屆亞洲化學學會聯盟會員大會上展出,並從數百篇參選壁報中脫穎而出,雙雙躋身前40名,獲頒優秀壁報獎。其中,澳大“創新肝素逆轉劑"更進入前10名,獲優中之優壁報獎。

澳大獲獎項目“創新肝素逆轉劑"由博士生黃俏賢(澳大王瑞兵副教授課題組)研發。研究以“通過胍基杯芳烴衍生物逆轉肝素的毒性”為題,製備出生物相容且具明顯逆轉肝素效果(見於體內小鼠流血模型中)的仿生肝素受體,為逆轉肝素的藥物設計提供了嶄新思路。肝素在臨床上被廣泛應用做抗凝血劑,但肝素過剩可導致內出血,增加神經血管和心血管併發症的風險,因此肝素逆轉劑的需求廣泛且迫切。

另一獲獎項目“創新型抗菌抗癌藥物"由碩士學生鄺熙婷(澳大教授李銘源和副教授王瑞兵共同指導)研發。研究以“利用有毒性的納米粒,用透明質酸包裹以減低其毒性,並用於除草、抗細菌及抗腫瘤治療的研究”為題,通過超分子“主客體作用”構建基於天然多醣包裹的毒性納米粒,並研究其應用,探索出研發對人體低毒性的除草劑、選擇性抗菌及抗腫瘤治療的潛在可能。

今屆大會規模宏大,由“亞洲化學學會聯盟”主辦,吸引來自各國的與會者,包括 IUPAC、美國化學會、英國化學會、 Wiley 出版社之亞洲化學編輯學會等,超過 2,000 名來自逾50 個國家之科學家及工商業人士參與。是次大會使與會者分享和深入了解全球最先進化學知識和研究資訊。

UM receives Best of the Best Prizes ChemCompetition at Asian Chemical Congress

Two research studies from the University of Macau’s (UM) Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences, one about an artificial heparin receptor and the other about a novel nano-platform, were both ranked among the top 40 and received the Best Prizes ChemCompetition at the 18th Asian Chemical Congress and the 20th General Assembly of the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies. One feature of the first study was ranked among the top 10 and received the Best of the Best Prizes ChemCompetition. 

The first study, titled ‘In Vivo Heparin Reversal by a Guanidinium Calixarene Derivative’, was conducted by doctoral student Huang Qiaoxian, who is a member of Prof Wang Ruibing’s research group. In the study, Huang invented an artificial heparin receptor that is highly biocompatible and can effectively reverse heparin toxicity via supramolecular sequestration in several in vivo bleeding models. Heparin is widely used as an anticoagulant in clinical practice, but excessive heparin often causes internal bleeding and increases the risk of neurovascular and cardiovascular complications. Therefore, safe and effective heparin neutralisers are urgently needed. Huang’s work not only provides a conceptual solution, but also offers important new insights for the design and development of heparin reversal agents. 

The other award-winning study, titled ‘Decoating-Induced Activation of Toxic Nanoparticles for Herbicidal, Antibacterial and Antitumor Applications’, was conducted by master’s student Cheryl Kwong, under the guidance of Prof Lee Ming-Yuen and Prof Wang Ruibing. In this study, Kwong fabricated natural polysaccharides coated toxic nanoparticles based on supramolecular host-guest interactions. She demonstrated that this novel nano-platform may have many applications. For instance, it can be used as a user-friendly herbicide, a selective antibacterial agent, or an antitumour nanomedicine. 

The event attracted more than 2,000 scientists and industry practitioners from over 50 countries, including representatives of prestigious institutions such as the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, American Chemical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and Wiley’s Asian Chemical Editorial Society. It aims to provide a platform for the exchange of information on chemistry research and the sharing of knowledge and experience among experts and scholars from around the world.