澳大仿生納米新藥有效治療動脈粥樣硬化

《自然通訊》(Nature Communications)今(26)日刊登了澳門大學的最新研發成果——一種基於巨噬細胞膜包載的仿生納米製劑,可有效治療動脈粥樣硬化,且無毒副作用。同時該研究也是世界上首次在炎症疾病模型中將細胞仿生納米製劑和活細胞製劑進行對比研究,可為該領域的科研工作者在後續研究中選擇合適劑型提供指導。

動脈粥樣硬化是心腦血管疾病如冠心病和腦梗死的主要原因,嚴重威脅人類的生命和健康。其病因是粥樣斑塊沉積在血管壁,造成動脈狹窄,現有藥物雖可減緩該病進程,但尚不能治癒,且毒副作用較大。針對這一問題,澳大中華醫藥研究院王瑞兵課題組和李銘源課題組合作,從發病機制上尋找新的突破點,開發了一種基於巨噬細胞膜包載的仿生納米製劑,可靶向遞送藥物至斑塊部位並有效逆轉小鼠動脈粥樣硬化進程,且無毒副作用。該研究首次對比了該新型“仿生納米製劑”和另一種新興的“活細胞製劑”的療效,詳細闡明了差異化原因。

根據粥樣斑塊部位高表達的活性氧水平,研究團隊以阿托伐他汀為模型藥物,製備了活性氧敏感型載藥納米粒,並進一步構建了巨噬細胞膜包裹藥物載體的仿生納米製劑,和吞噬藥物載體的巨噬細胞(活細胞)製劑。在對小鼠動脈粥樣硬化模型中,該仿生納米製劑能顯著提高載藥納米粒在斑塊部位的富集,通過響應高水平活性氧釋放被包裹的藥物,且比活細胞製劑更好地緩解並逆轉動脈粥樣斑塊的形成。

王瑞兵表示:”這主要是因為巨噬細胞膜可結合斑塊部位的炎症因子,從而降低炎症水平,並與阿托伐他汀協同發揮抗炎作用。然而,巨噬細胞(活細胞)製劑在斑塊炎症環境中可被啟動促炎機制,因而整體抗炎效果要差一些。”

此項研究獲澳門特別行政區科學技術發展基金資助(檔案編號:0121/2018/A3)與澳大研究基金支持。澳大王瑞兵副教授和李銘源教授為文章通訊作者,澳大博士生高成、黃俏賢(澳大濠江博士獎學金得主)和碩士生劉聰蕙為該文章的共同第一作者,澳大副教授萬建波、博士生岳魯丹、碩士生鄺熙婷亦為本研究作出重要貢獻。

相關研究成果以“仿生納米製劑通過靶向藥物治療協同截取促炎因子致動脈粥樣硬化消退”(Treatment of atherosclerosis by macrophage-biomimetic nanoparticles via targeted pharmacotherapy and sequestration of proinflammatory cytokines)為題發表於全球學術界知名《自然》(Nature)期刊的綜合性子刊——《自然通訊》。研究詳情可參閱:https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-16439-7

Source: https://www.um.edu.mo/news-centre/news-and-events/news-and-press-releases/detail/50192/

UM-developed biomimetic nanomedicine helps effectively treat atherosclerosis

Nature Communications today (26 May) published a study from the University of Macau (UM) on the development of a biomimetic drug delivery system derived from macrophage-membrane coated reactive oxygen species (ROS)-responsive nanoparticles, which can effectively treat atherosclerosis without causing toxic side effects. This is also the first study in the field that compares a biomimetic nanomedicine with a live-cell-based drug delivery system in an inflammatory disease model, which can provide guidance for researchers to choose the appropriate formulation in future research.

Atherosclerosis is the main cause of cardiovascular and cerebrovascular diseases, such as coronary heart disease and cerebral infarction, which seriously threatens human life and health. It is the result of atherosclerotic plaques depositing on the walls of blood vessels, which causes the narrowing of arteries. Although existing drugs can slow the progress of the disease, they cannot cure the disease and tend to cause toxic side effects. To address this problem, a research team led by Prof Wang Ruibing and another team led by Prof Li Ming Yuen at UM’s Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences worked together and developed a biomimetic nanomedicine derived from ROS-responsive nanoparticles coated with macrophage membrane, which can effectively reverse the atherosclerosis process in mice without causing toxic side effects. The study is also the first of its kind in the field to compare the efficacy of the new biomimetic nanomedicine with that of emerging live-cell based drug delivery system, with detailed explanation of the reasons behind their differences.

Based on the overproduction of ROS in atherosclerotic plaques, the research team designed and prepared ROS-responsive nanoparticles loaded with atorvastatin as a model drug. They further developed a macrophage-biomimetic nanomedicine by coating ROS-responsive nanoparticles with macrophage membranes. They also prepared a ‘live-cell’ drug delivery system by internalising ROS-responsive nanoparticles inside macrophages. During the treatment of atherosclerosis in mice, macrophage-biomimetic nanomedicine efficiently accumulated in the atherosclerotic plaques, released atorvastatin in response to the locally overproduced ROS, and effectively ameliorated and reversed the atherosclerotic plaques formation, with better therapeutic efficacy than the live-cell drug delivery strategy.

‘This is mainly because macrophage membranes in our biomimetic nanomedicine are able to efficiently sequester multiple proinflammatory factors at the plaque sites, thereby reducing the level of inflammation. The macrophage membranes work synergistically with atorvastatin to exhibit significant anti-inflammatory effects during the treatment of atherosclerosis,’ says Prof Wang. ‘In contrast, when used as a drug delivery vehicle, the live macrophage, in spite of its targeted accumulation in the plaques, may get activated by local inflammatory factors, leading to elevated inflammation. Therefore, the live-cell drug delivery system in our study was not as effective as the biomimetic nanomedicine for the treatment of atherosclerosis.’

This research study was supported by the Science and Technology Development Fund, Macau SAR (File No. 0121/2018 / A3) and UM’s research fund. Associate Professor Wang Ruibing and Professor Lee Ming-Yuen are the corresponding authors of the article. PhD students Gao Cheng and Huang Qiaoxian (UM Macao PhD Scholarship recipient), as well as master’s student Liu Conghui are the co-first-authors of the article. Associate Professor Wan Jianbo, PhD student Yue Ludan, and master’s student Kwong Cheryl H. T. also made important contributions to this study.

Titled ‘Treatment of Atherosclerosis by Macrophage-Biomimetic Nanoparticles via Targeted Pharmacotherapy and Sequestration of Proinflammatory Cytokines’, the paper has been published by Nature Communications, a leading comprehensive journal under the world-renowned Nature. For more information about the study, please visit: https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-16439-7

Source: https://www.um.edu.mo/news-centre/news-and-events/news-and-press-releases/detail/50192/