澳大研發新技術更靈敏檢測肝纖維化

澳門大學最新研發的技術有望為慢性肝病檢測帶來喜訊!長期出現急慢性肝炎會使肝臟纖維化,最終病變為肝硬化甚至肝癌,有見及此,澳大中華醫藥研究院副教授王春明的研究團隊開發嶄新技術。在小鼠模型中初步證實,該技術能實現高靈敏度檢測組織纖維化,有潛力應用於肝臟纖維化檢測,從而使病人及早接受治療。相關研究成果已獲國際頂級期刊《自然通訊》(Nature Communications)刊登。

是次澳大研究以“一種蛋白口袋逃逸設計策略解決近紅外熒光探針活體應用幹擾問題"(A pocket-escaping design to prevent the common interference with near-infrared fluorescent probes in vivo)為題開發相關技術。澳大團隊在原本針對創傷修復的一項研究中,偶然發現用作檢測工具的熒光探針有一類化學基團,容易“掉入”蛋白質結構的“口袋”中,從而產生干擾信號,這一機制通常被忽略。基於此,研究者乾脆對已經使用多年的商用染料的結構做了“手術”,設計合成了新的染料分子,使其發揮正常功能的同時不再“掉入口袋”,展示出比現有產品更高的分辨度。團隊在此染料分子基礎上,開發設計新型近紅外熒光探針,以肝纖維化過程中過量產生的醛賴氨酸分子為標誌物,成功實現了肝纖維化的分期診斷。

王春明表示,目前熒光成像探針可以幫助醫生實時、無損、動態監測病症發展,然而,這一工具在應用時易與血液中的白蛋白結合,造成假陽性信號干擾檢測。而澳大新技術則通過一種蛋白口袋逃逸設計策略成功解決了這種非特異結合問題,從而在纖維化疾病模型檢測中實現了更高的分辨度和準確性。此研究成果雖是受偶然啟發所得,但巧妙的科學設計和優良的實驗數據,展示出作為熒光成像新技術進一步開發的價值,在疾病實時診斷上的應用。

《自然通訊》為全球學術界最知名《自然》(Nature)期刊的綜合性子刊,發表各國學者各個學科頂級的原創研究,影響因子高達11.880(2018)。相關研究獲澳門科學技術發展基金與澳大研究基金支持。王春明為是次研究的通訊作者,澳大博士研究生邢盼飛為第一作者;澳大濠江博士後學者牛一鳴、王珍珍,澳大博士生母若雨、謝達平,南京大學教授董磊、研究生李歡玲等亦為是次研究作出重要貢獻。研究詳情可參閱:https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-15323-8

UM-developed liver fibrosis detection technology published in top international journal Nature Communications

The latest technology developed by the University of Macau (UM) is expected to bring a breath of hope for patients suffering from chronic liver disease! Long-term presence of acute and chronic hepatitis can cause liver fibrosis, which can progress to cirrhosis or even liver cancer. In view of this, a research team led by Wang Chunming, an associate professor of the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences at UM, developed a new technology for early detection of fibrotic markers. Mouse models have shown that this technology can achieve high-sensitivity detection of tissue fibrosis, and has the potential to be applied to liver fibrosis detection, so that patients can receive early treatment. The study has been published in the top international journal Nature Communications.

The article is titled ‘A pocket-escaping design to prevent the common interference with near-infrared fluorescent probes in vivo’. In performing a research project initially aimed at wound repair, the UM team accidentally found that fluorescent probes commonly used for biological detection have a class of chemical groups that are easily trapped by the ‘pockets’ of proteins. This trapping generates interference signals but is mostly overlooked. Based on this mechanism, the researchers performed a ‘surgical operation’ on the standard structure of commercial dyes that have been used for decades. They designed and synthesised a completely new dye that can exert the desirable function without falling into the protein pockets and, eventually, demonstrate higher resolution than existing products. The team continued to design a new near-infrared probe that successfully detects fibrotic markers by targeting the overproduces allysine during liver fibrosis.

According to Prof Wang, the current fluorescence imaging probe can help doctors realise real-time, non-invasive, and dynamic monitoring of the development of a disease. However, when this tool is applied, it can easily bind to albumin in the blood, causing false positive signals to interfere with the detection. The technology developed by the UM team successfully solved this problem by designing and synthesising a completely new dye that can exert the desirable function without falling into the protein pockets, thereby achieving higher resolution and accuracy in the detection of fibrotic disease models. Although this new technology was developed by happenstance, the ingenious scientific design and excellent experimental data show that it can be further developed into a new fluorescence imaging technology with valuable applications in real-time diagnosis of diseases.

Nature Communications is a comprehensive sub-journal of Nature, one of the most recognisable scientific journal in the world. It publishes cutting-edge original research studies by scholars in different disciplines and in different countries, with an impact factor of 11.880 (2018). The UM study was supported by the Macao Science and Technology Development Fund and UM’s research grant. Prof Wang is the corresponding author of the study, and PhD student Xing Panfei is the first author. The following individuals have also made important contributions to this study. They are Niu Yiming and Wang Zhenzhen, postdoctoral scholars generously supported by the UM Macao Postdoctoral Fellowship and Associateship programme; Mu Ruoyu and Xie Daping, doctoral students at UM; and Prof Dong Lei and postgraduate student Li Huanling at Nanjing University. Details of the study can be found at: https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-15323-8.